My Friendly Enemy 10

My friendly enemy
Episode 10 (Final Episode)
I did not respond immediately, as I was about to respond, my mum phone call came in, I started praying immediately that she shouldn’t talk about the incident. After their usual greetings and talks, my mum said she wanted to report me to my dad. [The phone was in loud speaker] my heart was already jumping up and down, she said when she visited me in school, I was moving with some certain class of individuals, who can be classified as riff raffs. After complaining, she hung up.
My dad then came towards me and requested I continue. [Thank God for my mum, she just saved me] I started my tale, I lied to my dad how I injured myself when we were practicing for sports the next day, and how I’ve been treated. I’m sure he didn’t believe me, but he didn’t say anything. He told me to take further care of myself and I quickly went to my room.
The next day, I met Anna at the sports field doing her regular business, she was indeed beautiful in her sportswear [this is the second time I’ll admire her beauty since I came to GGIS], I just couldn’t bring myself to think of how Anna and I have been pure enemies since my first day at school. After sports, Anna and I didn’t look at ourselves talk less of talking to each other.
That was how my life with Anna was till SSS2 ending, [stealing glances at each other, Anna putting me in trouble, and I also putting the whole class in trouble].
Our school’s price giving day came after the end of session, Anna took almost all the prices, while I couldn’t even any price even the price for the best disturber was not given to me. {Though my dad almost crucified me for not bagging any price, and complaining that I allowed a girl to come ahead of me, I still enjoyed my holiday}
Soon after the holidays, [I spent it at Lagos] we resumed back and I promised myself that I was going to overcome Anna who I see as a barrier. SSS 3 1st term went well but not without one trouble or the other, I was involved in a lot of little mischief like bullying, frustrating teachers in class and sneaking out of school after exams to play video games [my best was PS 3]
During our first term holiday, I went to Lagos and my mum told me that one of her Ibadan based friend will be visiting with her daughter; I got prepared ready to meet the beautiful girl (that’s what my mum called her).
The D-day came, and when the friend came, lo and behold the so called beautiful girl was Anna, I felt like dying, why must my life be tangled around Anna?
*Anna’ POV*
When my mum and I got to my mum’s friend’s place, I hesitated a little before I entered, I knew I was going to temmy’s house because my mum had told me about him, and I knew it was him, Temilolu Abigun. When I entered the house, I planned on snubbing him, I wouldn’t have come if not that my mum and I were going somewhere after the visit.
I eventually entered, I met a cute looking temmy and his mum, [I don’t just know why I don’t really like this boy]
Ohh, I almost forgot, I didn’t tell you the reason I came to Lagos, I came to Lagos with my mum to visit an uncle, and my mum wanted us to seize the opportunity to visit her childhood friend “Mrs Abigun”.
I saw that temmy was looking surprised or frustrated, I don’t really know, that was when I sat beside my mum.
*Temmy’s POV*
As she was about to sit I wished the chair should just divide and she meet herself on the floor, but that didn’t happen. (I think I’m kinda happy that I’m seeing her again) No, I’m not happy.
I was about leaving the sitting room when my mum stopped me and told me to take Anna along with me to the children’s sitting room. (I wanted to die) Anna was already refusing saying she was ok, when I said it’s ok, let’s go. Anna was surprised but obliged like a dog to its master.
We spent about 1 hour or so pressing our individual gadgets without talking to each other, it was when I logged in my Facebook account that every spoilt, I saw one of our class mates pictures which was terrible, I called her to see and we both laughed, that was when her mum and mine came in, they were also smiling saying that we got together really fast, they even teased us that we could get married in the nearest future, {na that one burst my brain, me marry Anna, I’ll just kill her}. Anna didn’t say anything but with the look on her face, she was deeply annoyed by our mums’ statement.
The holiday came to a close very soon, and we resumed, I was already catching up, I was already ranked second by the end of the term. Our West Africa Senior Secondary Certificate Examination (WASSCE) was only a few weeks and that was the examination that will determine if I’ll pass Anna or not.
We wrote the exams and I was sure that I’ll pass but wasn’t sure if I’ll pass Anna since I didn’t know what she wrote.
The WASSCE result came out and I had nine distinctions (6 A1s, 2 B2s and 1 B3 in English) Anna also had nine distinctions as I heard but I didn’t know the details.
Our price giving day came and I bagged 3 prices while Anna bagged 5 prices, I was already sad that I couldn’t beat her, the time came for the price of the best graduating student, that was when I heard Temilolu Abigun through the speaker, the whole school were shocked since Anna beat me with 2 prices, that was when the junior students started shouting ojoro, ojoro, cheating, fraud. The principal shut them up and explained that in the 5 subjects Anna passed me, according to the report from WAEC office, the difference were with 2 or 3 marks, but the 3 subjects I passed Anna, the difference was large and that was what beat Anna down.
As I was collecting the price, my mum and dad came up to take photograph with me. I could also see Anna’s mum smiling (I hope she’s not thinking that her future son in law is brilliant; if that is the case, let her be dreaming on). I looked at Anna and I saw pain not anger in her eyes, for the first time in my life, I felt sorry for Anna, what she had been working for, a boy just came and grabbed it, if I was the one, I’ll just die.
I later gained admission into the University of Lagos while Anna gained admission into the University of Ibadan. I was excelling in my studies and on my convocation day, I was also the best graduating student with 4.97 CGPA, I’m now a qualified Mechanical engineer, As I was about to collect the 1 million naira cheque, as my prize, that was when I heard a familiar tune, that was my alarm.
I woke up only to discover that I had been dreaming all along, today is going to be my first day in my new school.
I got to school and after assembly, there was a short meeting with the principal and our orientation, I was directed to my class, when I got there, the only free space was beside a girl resting her head on her desk. The teacher in class directed me to sit beside the girl. As I sat down, the girl rose up her head and with that familiar voice, she said “I’m Anna Badiru and you”.
The End
(I hope my dream isn’t trying to come to pass, or is it.)
#ydfstories

Leave a comment